Call for Papers

This year the 8th SPIoT will be held in conjunction with the 12th International Conference on Security, Privacy and Anonymity in Computation, Communication and Storage (SpaCCS 2019) in Atlanta, USA, on Jul. 14-17, 2019. This year SpaCCS will be co-located with IEEE Cybermatics Congress 2019.

The Internet of Things (IoT) regarded by most as Internet’s next evolutionary phase, can be perceived as a global network that brings together physical objects with sensing, actuating, and communicating capabilities. The goal is to connect devices that are able to self-configure and self-adapt to contextual changes through collaboration, instead of expecting direct human input. Nevertheless, this seamless integration of the cyber capabilities of the corresponding devices with the physical world, is poised to take the threats against this technology to the next level. In this context, every threat against IoT may constitute a threat against the physical assets of systems and such threats may be even translated to loss of human lives. SPIoT aims at complementing SpaCCS topics by providing specialized, in-depth focus on the security and privacy issues around IoT.

The focus of SPIoT is on high quality research papers about state of the art in a wide range of IoT-related technologies:

  • - Security and privacy in heterogeneous IoT.
  • - Secure and Privacy Preserving Data Mining and Aggregation in IoT applications.
  • - Cross-domain trust management in smart networks.
  • - Secure authentication of IoT devices.
  • - MAC layer security protocols for the IoT applications.
  • - IoT security mechanisms targeting application layer protocols.
  • - Resource-savvy Intrusion Detection for Networks of Things.
  • - IoT-based malware mitigation.

Proceedings: All accepted papers will be published by Springer LNCS in SpaCCS 2019 Workshops proceedings (indexed by Ei Compendex).

Submission and Publication Information: All papers need to be submitted electronically through the submission website using PDF format. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers must be clearly presented in English, must not exceed 10 pages in Springer LNCS format (or up to 14 pages with an additional charge for the extra pages), including tables, figures, references and appendices. Papers will be selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation assessed by at least two reviewers. Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and attend the conference to present the work. SPIoT-2019 reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from the digital library and indexing services), if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Keynote Speeches: You are welcome to attend keynote speeches shared by co-located SpaCCS 2019 & IEEE ISPA 2019 & IEEE IUCC 2019 Conferences.

Registration Information

Registration and Fees

Please check SpaCCS-2019 site here.

Important Dates

  • Paper submissions deadline: April 14, 2019 (Extended)
  • Author notification: May 12, 2019
  • Camera-Ready paper due: June 02, 2019
  • Symposium Date: July 14-17, 2019


  • Steering Chairs

    Guojun Wang, Guangzhou University, China
    Gregorio Martinez, University of Murcia, Spain

  • Steering Committee

    Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy
    Hua Wang, Victoria University, Australia
    Vasilis Katos, Bournemouth University, UK
    Jaime Lloret Mauri, Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain
    Yongdong Wu, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
    Zhoujun Li, Beihang University, China

  • Program Chairs

    Marios Anagnostopoulos, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, (NTNU), Norway
    Georgios Kambourakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
    Constantinos Kolias, University of Idaho, USA

  • Program Committee

    Juan Pedro Munoz-Gea, Universidad Politecnica de Cartagena, Spain
    Mohamad Badra, Zayed University, UAE
    Sofia Anna Menesidou, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
    Youssef Iraqi, Khalifa University of Science, Technology, and Research, UAE
    Hsiang-Cheh Huang, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
    Riccardo Lazzeretti, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
    Christoforos Ntantogian, University of Piraeus, Greece
    Zeeshan Pervez, University of the West of Scotland, UK
    Afrand Agah, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA
    Renita Murimi, Oklahoma Baptist University, USA
    Dan Garcia-Carrillo, University of Murcia, Spain
    Vinh Hoa La, Telecom SudParis, France
    Wissam Mallouli, Montimage, France
    Weizhi Meng, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
    Fernando Pereniguez Garcia, University Centre of Defence, Spanish Air Force Academy, Spain
    Rodrigo Roman, University of Malaga, Spain
    Georgios Karopoulos, University of Athens, Greece
    Daisuke Mashima, Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapore
    Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal
    Vin Hoa La, Telecom SudParis, France
    Vasileios Gkioulos, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway
    Georgios Spathoulas, University of Thessaly, Greece
    Asaf Shabtai, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
    Lanier A. Watkins, The Johns Hopkins University, USA
    Cataldo Basile, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
    Dimitris Geneiatakis, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
    Peng Zhou, Shanghai University, China
    Roger Piqueras Jover, Bloomberg Lp - Security Research Lab, USA
    Dimitrios Papamartzivanos, University of the Aegean, Greece


Organizers and Sponsors