• The 6th International Symposium on Security and Privacy on Internet of Things

    December 12-15, 2017
    Guangzhou, China

    In conjunction with SpaCCS 2017

    Submit paper

Call for Papers

This year the 6th SPIoT will be held in conjunction with the 10th International Conference on Security, Privacy and Anonymity in Computation, Communication and Storage (SpaCCS 2017) in Guangzhou, China, on Dec. 12-15, 2017.

The Internet of Things (IoT) regarded by most as Internet’s next evolutionary phase, can be perceived as a global network that brings together physical objects with sensing, actuating, and communicating capabilities. The goal is to connect devices that are able to self-configure and self-adapt to contextual changes through collaboration, instead of expecting direct human input. Nevertheless, this seamless integration of the cyber capabilities of the corresponding devices with the physical world, is poised to take the threats against this technology to the next level. In this context, every threat against IoT may constitute a threat against the physical assets of systems and such threats may be even translated to loss of human lives. SPIoT aims at complementing SpaCCS topics by providing specialized, in-depth focus on the security and privacy issues around IoT.

The focus of SPIoT is on high quality research papers about state of the art in a wide range of IoT-related technologies:

  • - Security and privacy in heterogeneous IoT.
  • - Secure and Privacy Preserving Data Mining and Aggregation in IoT applications.
  • - Cross-domain trust management in smart networks.
  • - Secure authentication of IoT devices.
  • - MAC layer security protocols for the IoT applications.
  • - IoT security mechanisms targeting application layer protocols.
  • - Resource-savvy Intrusion Detection for Networks of Things.
  • - IoT-based malware mitigation.

Proceedings: All accepted papers will be published by Springer LNCS in SpaCCS 2017 Workshops proceedings (indexed by Ei Compendex).

Journal Special Issue: Best papers, after further revisions, will be published in a special issue of Future Internet journal, MDPI. The corresponing CFP is here.
Future Internet journal is covered by Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI - Web of Science), Ei Compendex, Scopus.

Submission and Publication Information: All papers need to be submitted electronically through the conference website (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=spiot2017) using PDF format. Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers must be clearly presented in English, must not exceed 10 pages in Springer LNCS format (or up to 14 pages with an additional charge for the extra pages), including tables, figures, references and appendices. Papers will be selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation assessed by at least two reviewers. Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and attend the conference to present the work. SPIoT-2017 reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from the digital library and indexing services), if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Keynote Speeches: You are welcome to attend all 10+ keynote speeches shared by co-located SpaCCS 2017 & IEEE ISPA 2017 & IEEE IUCC 2017 Conferences

Symposium Venue: Guangdong Hotel, 510045 Dongfeng Road, Guangzhou, China (Tentative).

Registration Information

Registration Fees

Please check "Registration" webpage of SpaCCS 2017 conference website for detail.

Registration Dates

October 25, 2017

Important Dates

  • Paper submissions deadline: August 15, 2017
  • Author notification: September 15, 2017
  • Camera-Ready Paper Due: October 25, 2017
  • Symposium Date: TBD



  • Steering Committee

    Guojun Wang, Guangzhou University, China (Chair)
    Gregorio Martinez, University of Murcia, Spain (Chair)
    Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy
    Hua Wang, Victoria University, Australia
    Vasilis Katos, Bournemouth University, UK
    Jaime Lloret Mauri, Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain
    Yongdong Wu, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
    Zhoujun Li, Beihang University, China

  • Program Chairs

    Georgios Kambourakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
    Constantinos Kolias, George Mason University, USA

  • Technical Papers Committee

    Roger Piqueras Jover, Bloomberg Lp - Security Research Lab, USA
    Marilia Curado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
    Weizhi Meng, Technical Universtiy of Denmark, Denmark
    Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal
    Corrado Aaron Visaggio, University of Sannio, Italy
    Vittoria Cozza, University of Padua, Italy
    Fernando Pereniguez Garcia, University Centre of Defence, Spanish Air Force Academy, Spain
    Dimitrios Damopoulos, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
    Yacine Challal, Universite de Technologie de Compiegne, France
    A. Selcuk Uluagac, Florida International University, USA
    Shahid Raza, SICS Swedish ICT, Sweden
    Enrico Natalizio, Universite de Technologie de Compiegne, France
    Dan Garcia-Carrillo, University of Murcia, Spain
    Asaf Shabtai, Ben-Gurion University, Israel
    Rodrigo Roman, University of Malaga, Spain
    Sofia Anna Menesidou, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
    Marios Anagnostopoulos Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
    Daisuke Mashima, Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapore
    Dimitris Geneiatakis, JRC, Italy
    Vin Hoa La, Telecom SudParis, France
    Wissam Mallouli, Montimage, France
    Georgios Karopoulos, University of Athens, Greece
    Lanier A. Watkins, The Johns Hopkins University, USA
    Konstantinos Fysarakis, Foundation of Research and Technology - Hellas (FORTH), Greece
    Christoforos Ntantogian, University of Piraeus, Greece
    Zeeshan Pervez, University of the West of Scotland, UK
    Afrand Agah, West Chester University of Pennsylvania, USA
    Renita Murimi, Oklahoma Baptist University, USA
    Cataldo Basile, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
    Mohamad Badra, Zayed University, UAE
    Hsiang-Cheh Huang, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
    Altair Santin, Pontifical Catholic University of Parana, Brazil
    Juan Pedro Muñoz-Gea, Technical University of Cartagena, Spain
    Youssef Iraqi, Khalifa University of Science, Technology, and Research, UAE
    Riccardo Lazzeretti, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
    Angelo Spognardi, Sapienza Univ. of Rome, Italy
    Corinna Schmitt, University of Zurich, Switzerland